New Zealand eTA Requirements

New Zealand eTA Visa Waiver eligible countries

Applicants need to meet the New Zealand eTA Visa Waiver requirements to be able to apply. It is necessary to have a valid passport from one of the 60 eligible countries and pay a fee using a credit or debit card.

Travellers must be in good health and when requesting the NZ eTA they are asked if they are travelling to the country for treatment or medical consultation.

When requesting the eTA for New Zealand, travellers will be asked questions about their character. Good character requirements demand that the applicant does not meet any of the following:

  • Have a criminal conviction
  • Has been deported, removed or excluded from another country

If the New Zealand authorities have a reason to believe the applicant may be a risk to the country’s security, public order or public interest, the eTA will not be approved.

New Zealand eTA eligible countries

Citizens of 60 nationalities can now travel to New Zealand with the travel electronic authority. Now that the eTA has been officially launched, citizens of 60 countries are able to apply for this electronic travel authorization online. As of October 2019, it is obligatory to hold a valid NZeTA to travel to the country.

In addition, all airline crew and cruise line crew need to hold a Crew eTA before travelling to New Zealand.

Citizens of the following 60 countries are required to apply for an eTA from October 2019:

– All European Union citizens:

– Other Countries:

Country Special Conditions:

Passport holders from the following countries must comply with the country-specific requirements to apply for an eTA:

  • Hong Kong: HKSAR or British National-Overseas Passport holders only
  • Macau: Macau Special Administrative Region passport holders only
  • Portugal: Must have the right to reside permanently in in Portugal
  • Taiwan: Must have the right to reside permanently in Taiwan.
  • The United Kingdom: Must have the right to reside permanently in the UK.

Citizens of Australia, however, are an exception. Australians can continue to travel to New Zealand visa-free. Australian permanent residents of eligible or non eligible nationalities alike are required to apply for an eTA to travel to New Zealand, but are exempt from paying the tourist levy.

The following citizens will also be exempt from applying for an eTA for travel to New Zealand:

  • Crew and passengers of a non-cruise vessel
  • Crew on a foreign ship carrying cargo
  • Guests of the New Zealand Government
  • Foreign citizens travelling under The Antarctic Treaty
  • Members of a visiting force and associated crew members.

Passport and eTA requirements for New Zealand

Depending on a citizen’s nationality, it is necessary to have a passport with a remaining validity of 3 months beyond the intended date of departure from New Zealand. Applicants will need to have a valid passport from one of the 60 eligible countries to apply for eTA New Zealand.