Who needs a visa to enter New Zealand?

Anyone whose nationality is not eligible for visa-free entry into New Zealand or the NZ eTA needs to obtain a visa for New Zealand in order to enter the country. In addition, anyone who is from a visa-exempt country who wishes to stay for longer than the permitted duration of time needs to obtain a visa.

It is mandatory for all citizens of the 60 visa-waiver countries to pre-register an Electronic Travel Authorization application before travelling to New Zealand starting October 1st, 2019. This eTA is valid for a total of 2 years and can be used for multiple visits. Travellers can easily apply for their NZ eTA online from the comfort of their home or office.

Citizens of Australia are allowed visa-exempt travel to New Zealand. Foreign passport holders that are Australian permanent residents are required to apply for the eTA NZ —regardless of their nationality—(but not to pay the associated tourist levy fee) from October 1st, 2019 onwards.