Do I need an eTA for New Zealand?

The eTA for NZ is now available for nationals of 60 countries visiting New Zealand for tourism or business purposes, including the United States and European Union member nations. These are nationals who could previously cross the New Zealand border visa-free (visa waiver countries).

– All European Union citizens:

– Other Countries:

The NZeTA visa waiver for Transit is also available for transit passengers from visa waiver countries and those from transit visa waiver countries making a stopover in NZ on their way to a third-country destination.

  • Bahamas
  • Bermuda
  • Bolivia
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Ecuador
  • Federated States of Micronesia
  • Indonesia
  • Kiribati
  • Nauru
  • Palau
  • Panama
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Republic of Marshall Islands
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands
  • Thailand
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu
  • Venezuela

eTA simplifies travel greatly since the majority of foreigners need a valid permit in order to enter New Zealand.

The eTA is mandatory starting from the 1st of October, 2019. This means that all eligible travellers who wish to visit New Zealand for tourism or business purposes for short-term stays, or transit through Auckland International Airport, will need to apply for an NZeTA before departure.

Although the NZeTA is not a visa, relevant foreigners who failed to obtain an eTA risk being denied access at the New Zealand border.

Citizens from the UK can enter for up to 6 months with the New Zealand eTA.

Australian permanent residents are required to hold a valid NZeTA, regardless of their nationality, whether they are transiting through NZ or visiting for under 90 days.

Australians are among those who can stay in New Zealand indefinitely and are not required to have any type of visa waiver for short-term stays.

What to do if you cannot apply for eTA

Travellers from nationalities that cannot enter NZ without a visa can apply for a Visitor Visa for New Zealand. The type of visa that a citizen should apply for depends on several factors, including:

  • The traveller’s nationality
  • Passport validity
  • Reason(s) for visiting New Zealand
  • Intended length of stay
  • Immigration history (if applicable)