eTA New Zealand

Electronic Travel Authority for New Zealand

What is the ETA New Zealand?

The ETA for New Zealand (Electronic Travel Authority) is an electronic visa waiver which will be launched over the coming months. Citizens from eTA New Zealand eligible countries will be able to obtain an ETA for New Zealand by completing an online application form.

There will be no need to physically go to an embassy or consulate and the eTA New Zealand online application form will only take a matter of minutes to complete. Once approved, the ETA New Zealand will be sent to the applicant electronically.

Visitors to New Zealand will be able to present their ETA NZ to the border authorities to gain entry. ETAs will improve border security as visitors will be screened before they arrive and anyone who poses a security risk will be identified.

The application form will require applicants to answer a series of questions by entering information such as their full name, address, date of birth, passport details, and travel plans. There will also be sections on the New Zealand eTA visa form related to health and security.

Who needs an ETA Visa for New Zealand?

The government has not finalized the list of eligible countries for the Electronic Travel Authority for New Zealand. The list will be announced over the coming months and up-to-date information will be published on this website.

At the moment there are a number of nationalities who can travel to New Zealand without obtaining a visa for up to 90 days. Citizens from the UK can enter for up to six months and Australians hold residency status on arrival. Passport holders from the following countries can enter visa-free:

The government has not finalized the list of eligible countries for the ETA for New Zealand but following countries are expected to be included: Canada, Hong Kong ( SAR PRC), Brunei (Darussalam), Malaysia, Singapore, Republic of South Korea, United States, Japan.

Traveling with a New Zealand ETA visa waiver

Visiting New Zealand is epic and its popularity as a tourist destination continues to grow. The scenery is truly breathtaking and was famously used to shoot the ‘Lord of the Rings’ trilogy as the landscapes are so diverse. Trips to New Zealand can be relaxed or full of adventure. It is a world-class location for surfing and skiing.

Traveling with an ETA New Zealand Visa will be simple. The process will save the hassle of going to an embassy or consulate to obtain a visa. All applicants will just need to meet the basic visa requirements and complete the online application.

ETA New Zealand will be launched over the coming months. If you are planning a trip to New Zealand, check this website for regular updates regarding the electronic visa waiver.